Royal Melbourne Show

20160924_181226.jpgA couple of weeks ago, I went to the Royal Melbourne Show. Now, as someone who isn’t from Melbourne, I always hear all this hype about it and so I said to myself, “surely I have to go!” This was basically my first experience in Melbourne where I was like, “wow, the population of Melbourne is actually insane.” You could barely move as you came in. Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’ve never had this experience in NZ, it’s just that there’s nowhere near as many people! But all was good when we moved ourselves away from the entrance!

As you walk through the Royal Melbourne Show, you see all the kids eagerly waiting to go on the rides. Now, I would be exactly the same if I wasn’t scared of heights!! So naturally, that meant that I was the designated bag holder, which I do prefer over going on a crazy rollercoaster! Not gonna lie, I did question the price of the rides. I mean, paying $10/$15 was alright, but some rides were $20 and I was kinda like ????? But I suppose it’s a good businessย strategy given that kids would want to go on the rides regardless.

There were also heaps of carnival games, and my friend won a massive soft toy through a scratchy-type game. Basically you paid $2 for a scratchy and had to see whether at least one of the numbers you had matched a number on the board. My friend won it on her first go, so lucky hScreen Shot 2016-09-30 at 8.41.06 AM.pnger!! It’s quite funny though because while we were walking through the game stalls and saw what prizes were available, I told her which toy freaked me out. Funnily enough, that’s the one she went with… What’s even more funny though, was the fact that we went out for dinner afterwards. So there she was, hauling her basically life-sized toy around on the bus and into restaurants. I could feel people staring but it was actually hilarious. And also, how often is one going to win a life sized toy in one try!?!? In saying this, I felt bad though cause our other friends tried to win prizes through the basketball games and scratchiesย so many times, but unfortunately had no luck.

Going to the Royal Melbourne Show also made me feel just at home. The amount of farm animals there reminded me of the places I’d usually go running at home, and it was really nice. Although I feel like because I am from NZ, I don’t understand the buzz of farm animal attractions. I suppose given that I see them everywhere (there’s 7 sheep from every human in NZ!), it’s not that exciting after all.

20160924_135347.jpg


However, the most exciting thing was when we stumbled across the Masterchef building. Now if you know me, you know that I thoroughly enjoy cooking and baking, and I love watching Masterchef. We literally had no idea that the showgrounds was so close to the Masterchef building, and they were using the Masterchef building for food stalls! How appropriate hey! My friends were basically like “we’ve never seen you this excited before,” so yeah, it was quite the experience to see it in reality!

20160924_173525
Going to the Royal Melbourne Show was so much fun, so I’d definitely recommend going if you’re around Melbourne in late September!

Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

