What do you want to be in the future?

lets_build_our_future_together_807295

So here I am, asking the age-old question, what do you want to be when you grow up? Everywhere I go, people are still telling me, “it’s ok to be unsure, you still have time.” And yes, that probably is true because I’m still at the end of my teens. However, it feels intimidating and uncomfortable when you feel like everyone around you knows what they want to do, or have some sort of plan for their future.

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I literally have no idea. I’m at uni, so I suppose my chosen degree will dictate, to an extent, the field that I go down (unless of course I don’t end up using my degree in the future, which of course, happens in reality). In addition to that, I do have a few ideas of what I want to do. However, you’re always faced with the conflict, do I go down a field which can guarantee me good job opportunities and I have some degree of interest in it? Or do I go down a field where I am involved with things I thoroughly enjoy, but the job opportunities are average?

The other night, I went to a faculty industry night and basically their advice was, in order for you to advance well into a career, you must have the passion for what you are doing, and you must build relationships, i.e. networking. This turns me to a new question, where do you find your passion? I definitely do have my passions, but how can I find a job out of it? When people say that you should find a job you’re passionate about, it leads me to ask, do you just happen to come across such a passion? How are you actually supposed to find it or is it just pure luck?

Now when it comes to building relationships, I can understand the importance of having a good group of friends around you, and I’m very lucky to say that I do have such friends. However, how do you find a network in a related field? See for me, I hope that my next steps are to volunteer at places which are relevant to fields I am interested in, and I hope to build relationships with people there because after all, they all say, “it’s not about what you know but who you know.”

Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

